home Forums Pressure Cookers Instant Pot Instant Pot SMART – worth waiting for?

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    gjeun
    Participant

Hi – I’m new to the world of pressure cooking and am considering the Instant Pot IP-DUO60 7-in-1 programmable pressure cooker. However, I see on the main page of hippressurecooking.com the news of the soon-to-be-released Instant Pot SMART pressure cooker in late November/early December 2014. Wondering if anyone has any thoughts on whether it’s worth the wait of another couple of weeks to purchase the SMART model? Any idea of what the SMART model will retail for? Thanks!

Laura Pazzaglia
    Keymaster

gjeun,

The SMART will have all of the functions and programs of the DUO + plus status messages of what the pressure cooker is doing on the display screen (when the heating element is on/off, low/med/high pressure inside, bluetooth enabled, program enabled). With the app (currently only for iphone but coming the first quarter of next year for android) you can see the exact temperature inside the smartcooker at any given time during the cooking cycle and use existing recipe scripts (in the app) or write your own.

For example, you can write a recipe script to pressure cook something for 10 minutes at high pressure, and then 10 minutes at low pressure. Or, you can write a recipe script to slow cook something at the high setting for 1 hour and then slow cook it at low setting for 5 hours. You could even write a script to first pressure cook, and THEN slow cook something or a script for low-temp fermentation. Lots of possibilities!

Instant Pot is currently editing the videos for the SMART we made together and should be releasing them very soon.

Only you can be the judge of how important all of these functions, flexibility and app will be for you!