home Forums Pressure Cookers Instant Pot IP Smart 60 Discontinued?

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    dee_f
    Participant

Hello! I’m new to Instant Pot. When reading all of the reviews, I failed to realize that the Ultra doesn’t have the app support that the Duo does. And while the extra features of the Ultra all sound nice, to my mind they really don’t make up for the loss of the control the app provided — most specifically, the ability to build scripts that can pressure cook and then brown without needing the cook to return to the kitchen and push buttons.

I’ve looked to see if I can order a Smart anywhere to play with before the return period on my Ultra ends (it’s in the box for now) — but it seems like maybe the Smart has been discontinued?

I don’t see it on IP’s website, and anyone who has it listed for a reasonable price has no stock. Meanwhile resellers are scalping single units on Amazon marketplace and eBay.

Any information available? Should I forget about the Smart until prices for clearance or used units come back to earth? Is there a way to enter programs on the Ultra’s front panel that will cook at different temperatures for different intervals, or automatically start browning after natural pressure release?

If not, I can’t imagine why Instant Pot chose to eliminate those features from the entire product lineup, unless maybe they’re about to replace the Smart 60 with a WiFi enabled product.

Laura Pazzaglia
    Keymaster

I don’t think so, it is on their homepage. There has been a rush on Instant Pots and at the end of December all the models sold out. They will likely get more in soon, hopefully, they’re working on an update.