home Forums Pressure Cookers Kuhn Rikon or Prestige Hi-dome?

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    UK Hipper
    Participant

I am new to PC-ing and my primary motivation is to use one to cook bone broth to drink daily as a health tonic. I will also use it for meat stews, chilli and cooking beans. I have childhood memories of a steamy kitchen as my mother had an aluminium prestige hi-dome PC. The ones with the valve weights.

The 6 litre hi-dome can be bought in the UK for about fifty UK pounds. The Kuhn Rikon (KR) is about four times the price! :O I am drawn to the KR as it is stainless steel and appears to be very durable. I am concerned about the aluminium of the prestige leaching into my food. They say that if acidic foods are cooked then this can happen. I read on this forum that the valve housing cap can break on the KR and these are about 15 pounds to replace. This is putting me off along with the high price.

Is the KR worth it? What are the advantages apart from it being stainless steel? Please help me to decide. Thanks very much

Mark

Greg
    Participant

No experience with the Prestige, but I LOVE my Kuhn Rikons. I do remember my mother’s Namco though which was built along the same lines.

I stopped using aluminium in cookware many years ago. I became aware of a metallic taint in my food which I disliked. Then there was the Alzheimers scare (later debunked). I switched to stainless, and have never looked back.

Kuhn Rikon have five different safety interlocks. These guys are NEVER going to explode with normal use.
    Kuhn Rikons are quiet.
    They release minimal steam, and as a result are more efficient (less fuel and less liquid) to run than most other pressure cookers.

Because they are so efficient they take a little getting used to. To maintain pressure the burner needs to be barely on.