home Forums Pressure Cookers Fagor Oiling the gasket?

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    coral
    Participant

I’m new to pressure cooking, so forgive my possibly silly question…

How much oil should I have to put on a stove-top PC gasket before each use?

I’ve been having trouble getting my new Fagor Duo PC to get to pressure at all. With a bit of experimenting I have discovered that if I oil the gasket really heavily (until the oil is starting to drip off) then it will reach pressure, otherwise it won’t at all and will just leak a lot of steam continuously around the handle/control area.

I would assume I shouldn’t need to oil it that much? But as I have no previous experience with PCing I don’t really know.

Would appreciate any advice – am pretty much clueless here! lol

TIA :)

Laura Pazzaglia
    Keymaster

Coral,

According to Fagor’s manual, the gasket should be oiled after washing before storage, not for the cooker to reach pressure.

It sounds like the gasket may need to be replaced. Gaskets, and other rubber/silicone parts need to be replaced approximately every 18 months.

Few know that the gaskets age even while they are NOT being used – so if this is a brand new cooker you will want to tell the store where you purchased it that the gasket is defective. If you’ve had the pressure cooker for a while – then replacing the gasket is just regular pressure cooker maintenance.

In the meantime, just wet your finger with water and drag it around the edge of the gasket before each use. That will help with the seal until you can get a new gasket.

Ciao,

L

coral
    Participant

Thank you so much for your reply, Laura :)

Yes it is a brand new PC. I have emailed the store I purchased it from to let them know the problem.

Thanks again.

Anonymous
    Participant