home Forums Problems or Issues Pressure Cooker Food Exploded!

This topic contains 10 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by  Laura Pazzaglia 11 months, 1 week ago.

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author

newtopc
    Participant

Hi,
    I’m new to pressure cooking so I thought I’d try to get some advice here. My mother used her Fagor pressure cooker to cook some meat, beans, vegetables in a soup. Being in a hurry, after the desired cooking time, she put the pot in a basin of cold water and also turned the dial to quick pressure release. Not sure how long the total time was between cold water immersion and full pressure release, but after she opened the pressure cooker (no problems there), she took a spoon or ladle to check the meat, and immediately the food contents exploded (about 50% she said) and left her with 1st & 2nd degree burns on her face and arm!

She’s still recovering in the hospital, but perhaps someone here can explain to us why this happened. It seems like it was a combination of the superheated food and quick pressure release that led to a unique state of the food. I’ve read about superheated water exploding in the microwave after a teabag is put in, but it seems like the jostling of the pot in the cold water, quick pressure release, and opening the top would be enough “agitation” for the food not to be in this state. We’re all a little scared to use our pressure cookers now…

Laura Pazzaglia
    Keymaster

First, let me say how sorry I am to hear that your mother was hurt – that sounds like a very scary experience!

Without knowing more about the recipe that was used, I cannot give you more details about what might have happened, except to say that thick and chunky food could have hot air pockets of steam that will violently come to the surface when the food is disturbed.