home Forums Beginner Basics Pressure cooking doesn’t really save time?

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    DaveW
    Participant

I’m a newbie and just bought an IP 6 qt, duo. It works fine, but I haven’t figured out how to use it to best effect. I used it to roast a chicken and followed the instructions exactly. The dark meat was fine, but the breast meat was so dry I couldn’t eat it. It was a 4 lb. bird and the recipe called for 28 minutes of pressure cooking with a natural release. I have an “infusor” accessory for my Char Broil gas grill. To roast a 4 lb. chicken with it, I preheat the grill for 15 minutes on high and put the chicken in for 15 minutes, lower the heat to medium and roast another 30 minutes. The chicken comes out with perfectly browned skin and roasted to perfection. If you add the browning time, the startup and pressure release times of the IP, it takes longer to use it than the grill. I’ve also used a small egg cooker to make hard boiled eggs. It completes in 20 minutes, including the preheat time. The IP takes about that long as well. So what am I missing? Should I just stick to soups and pot roasts? I’ve read many rave reviews on the IP pressure cooker, but, so far, I can’t see a big advantage. I understand that for recipes with ingredients that are normally cooked separately, the IP saves cleanup. However, I avoid recipes that require lots of ingredients and separate cooking preparation.
    I’d really appreciate any advice to help me understand and get the best use of my new appliance.

Greg
    Participant