home Forums Pressure Cookers Should I buy a pressure cooker or an air fryer?

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    tutu10
    Participant

I’m trying to expand my cooking options and I am torn between the two. I’m trying to eat healthier and the air fryer seems to be a better choice but someone recommended that pressure cooking gives you better flavour.. I’m a novice when it comes to cooking. Would be keen to hear from experience cooks.

Greg
    Participant

They do very different things.
    An air fryer uses a dry cooking method. A pressure cooker uses a wet cooking method.

To my mind, an air fryer is much more limiting. I don’t have one, but I do have a deep fryer. I use it maybe once every couple of months. On the other hand, rarely a day goes past when I don’t use my pressure cooker.

Roast – PC: Yes, AF: Yes
    Braise- PC: Yes, AF: No
    Pasta – PC: Yes, AF: No
    Chips (Fries) – PC: No, AF: Yes
    Casserole – PC: Yes, AF: No
    Curry – PC: Yes, AF: No
    Corned Beef – PC: Yes, AF: No
    Tamales – PC: Yes, AF: No
    Frijoles – PC: Yes, AF: No
    Soup – PC: Yes, AF: No
    Christmas Pudding – PC: Yes, AF: No
    Cake – PC:Yes, AF: Not sure. I suspect not.
    Stir Fry – PC: No, AF: No

Have a look at Laura’s PC cookery lessons. They will give you a good idea of what a PC can cook.